University Research Council

The University's Research Council is responsible for addressing research issues that affect the six UTHealth schools.



Elmer Bernstam, MD, MSE
Associate Dean for Research, School of Biomedical Informatics


Bruce Butler, PhD
Vice President of Research and Technology

Jack Byrne, PhD
Associate Dean for Research, Medical School

John Hancock, PhD
Vice Dean for Basic Research, Medical School

Amy Hazen, PhD
Associate Director of Shared Research Resources

Jacqueline Hecht, PhD
Associate Dean for Research, School of Dentistry

Janet Meininger, PhD
Interim Associate Dean for Research, School of Nursing

Mary Robinson, DVM
Executive Director, Center for Laboratory Animal Medicine and Care

Sujatha Sridhar, MBBS
Executive Director, Research Compliance, Education and Support Services

Melissa Thompson, PhD
Associate Director of Strategic Industry Initiatives

Susan Tortolero Emery, PhD
Senior Associate Dean for Academic & Research Affairs, School of Public Health

Jon Tyson, MD
Vice Dean for Clinical Research, Medical School

ex officio: George Stancel, PhD, Michael R. Blackburn, PhD,  Eric Solberg, MA, Deanne M. Hernandez, MPA