Fact Book Profile: Medical School

History and Purpose

On June 13, 1969, The University of Texas Medical School at Houston was created by an act of the Legislature and an appropriation for its initial cost was made to be effective September 1, 1969. The Medical School’s mission is to provide the highest quality education and training of future physicians for the state of Texas, in harmony with the state’s diverse population; to conduct the highest caliber of research in the biomedical and health sciences; and to provide exemplary clinical services.

Instructional Programs/Dual Degree Programs

Doctor of Medicine

The Medical School program leading to a medical doctor degree has two primary components: two years of basic science study and two years of clinical experience. The basic science years, with the second year designed as a bridging year, are devoted to preparing the student for the clerkship experiences of the third and fourth years. Each student has a faculty adviser who helps devise the student’s educational sequence and set career goals and postgraduate educational plans. An alternate pathway program, entered during the first year, allows a student to complete the first year of basic science courses in two years.

Doctor of Medicine/Doctor of Philosophy

The Medical School and the Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences participate in a combined program leading to the MD and PhD degrees. This program is sponsored and supported by both UTHealth and UT MD Anderson Cancer Center, is administered by an MD/PhD committee, and involves faculty from both institutions. The requirements for the program meet the general requirements of both degrees in a flexible six-year program.

Doctor of Medicine/Master of Public Health

The Medical School and the School of Public Health participate in a combined program leading to the MD and the MPH degrees. The program is integrated throughout a five-year period with a typical program participant spending a year working exclusively on the MPH with the possibility of concurrent enrollment for the completion of some requirements. The requirements established for the program meet the general requirements for both degrees.

Doctor of Medicine/ Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery Residency (MD/OMS)

Both a 4-year and 6-year Advanced Education Program in Oral and Maxillofacial Surgery is offered through the Medical School. Each program prepares practitioners to treat diseases, injuries, and defects involving both the functional and aesthetic aspects of the hard and soft tissues of the oral and maxillofacial region. The basic prerequisites for both 4 and 6-year programs are a DDS or DMD degree from an accredited dental school and National Dental Boards Parts I & II.

Master of Science in Clinical Research

In August 2002, the Medical School began offering a master’s degree in clinical research. This degree program is designed as a focused, flexible, and affordable program to train clinical investigators in designing and conducting patient-oriented research that is of exemplary quality. The curriculum accommodates clinicians’ busy schedules; classes meet one afternoon a week. The degree can be completed in two to four years depending on the amount of time a student devotes to the program. Students may choose one of two tracks – a patient-based clinical research track or a translational research track.

Doctor of Medicine/Master of Business Administration

The University of Texas Medical School at Houston offers a dual degree MD/MBA program of the Medical School and The University of Houston Clear Lake. There is a need that is anticipated to increase for individuals trained in both medicine and business practices to serve numerous important roles in the medical and health care professions. The dual degree program allows students to obtain the MD and MBA degrees from UTHealth Medical School and UHCL School of Business, respectively, by successful completion of the requirements of both degree programs and obtain the training needed for such positions.

Reciprocal Agreements

Through reciprocal agreements, students at other UT System components, Rice University, Baylor College of Medicine, Texas Women’s University, and the University of Houston may take graduate courses for credit at UTHealth. In addition, UTHealth graduate students may take courses for credit at any of the above institutions. Mechanisms for payment of tuition or registration fees vary according to the individual institution.


The nine-story Medical School Building (MSB) is connected on the south end to a six-story research building, the Medical School Expansion (MSE), which replaced the original John Freeman Building. On its north side, the building bridges Ross Sterling Avenue to form one continuous structure with Memorial Hermann-Texas Medical Center. The MSB contains offices, laboratories, classrooms, lecture halls, study areas, educational and biomedical communications support areas, student lounges, and administrative suites. The Medical School leases space in the nearby Jesse Jones Library Building for administrative functions, departmental functions, and clinical research. The top two floors of the MSE are devoted to a state-of-the-art vivarium, and the first four floors are dedicated to research. The Department of NanoMedicine and BioMedical Engineering and the Department of Internal Medicine’s Division of Cardiovascular Medicine are located at South Campus Research Building 3. The Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences also is located on the South Campus at the Behavioral and Biomedical Sciences Building. The Brown Foundation Institute of Molecular Medicine for the Prevention of Human Diseases is located in the Fayez S. Sarofim Research Building. Physician faculty provide the majority of their outpatient care in the UT Professional Building, which is located across the street from the Medical School and at a growing number of UT Physicians clinics around the Greater Houston area.

Affiliated Hospitals & Group Practice

Primary affiliations are with Memorial Hermann Hospital – Texas Medical Center and the Lyndon B. Johnson General Hospital of the Harris Health System. Other major affiliates include UT M D Anderson Cancer Center, UT Harris County Psychiatric Center, and the Texas Heart Institute/St. Luke’s Episcopal Hospital. Please see Patient Care section for Faculty Practice Plan (MSRDP), UT Physicians, and Affiliated Medical Services.

source: Darla Brown, Medical School

Organizational Chart

Medical School Organization

source: Darla Brown, Medical School