Skip Navigation.

Media Relations

UTHealth genetic researcher honored by BioHouston

HOUSTON – (Nov. 12, 2012) – Dianna Milewicz, M.D., Ph.D., professor and director of the Division of Medical Genetics and holder of the President George H. W. Bush Chair in Cardiovascular Medicine at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth) Medical School, will be honored Nov. 14 by BioHouston at its Fourth Annual Lunch Celebrating Women in Science.

Milewicz is a recognized leader in aortic disease research and principal investigator of a $12 million grant from the National Heart, Lung & Blood Institute, part of the National Institutes of Health, for collaborative research on thoracic aortic disease. She directs the research team at UTHealth’s John Ritter Research Program in Aortic and Vascular Diseases and they have discovered multiple genes that predispose people to familial thoracic aortic aneurysms.  Her team has also identified genes for early onset stroke, intracranial aneurysms and premature coronary artery disease.

The mission of BioHouston is to “create an environment that will stimulate technology transfer and research commercialization, thereby generating economic wealth for the Houston region and making it a global competitor in life science commercialization.”

The luncheon, held at the River Oaks Country Club, also will honor Lydia Kavraki, Ph.D., Rice University; Renu Khator, Ph.D., University of Houston; and Sara Ortwein, ExxonMobil Upstream Research Company. The four will be celebrated for demonstrating “extraordinary leadership in science and technology.”

Deborah Mann Lake
Media Contact: 713-500-3030