UTHealth’s Harper named president-elect of Texas psychiatric physicians group

HOUSTON – (July 1, 2013) – R. Andrew Harper, M.D., professor of psychiatry and behavioral sciences at The University of Texas Health Science Center at Houston (UTHealth), has been named president of the Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians.

Harper is chief medical officer of The University of Texas Harris County Psychiatry Center and assistant dean of educational programs at the UTHealth Medical School.

"Dr. Harper's election to the presidency of the society is an honor for him, the UT Harris County Psychiatric Center and the Department of Psychiatry," said Jair Soares, M.D., chair of the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences at UTHealth and CEO of the psychiatric center. "It recognizes Dr. Harper's contributions to patient care, clinical education of medical professionals in all disciplines and his work in the community."

The Texas Society of Psychiatric Physicians, part of the American Psychiatric Association, is dedicated to developing the highest quality of comprehensive psychiatric care for patients, families, and communities.

Deborah Mann Lake
Media Contact: 713-500-3030