Limited Submissions

Current Limited Submission Opportunities

Brain Research Foundation Fay/Frank Seed Grant Program (internal deadline 11/4/2016)

Internal Review Process

From time to time, granting agencies and foundations will restrict the number of proposals they will accept from any one institution. The Executive Vice President & Chief Academic Officer (EVP&CAO) has instituted the following Limited Submission pre-application process for such programs:

  • Investigators interested in any of the programs noted below must submit a pre-application packet to Deanne Hernandez by the specified internal deadline. 
  • If the number of interested investigators exceeds allowable proposals, an internal committee comprised appointed by the EVP&CAO will review the pre-applications and recommend the best qualified applicant(s).
  • The EVP&CAO will communicate results of the selection process to both the investigators and Sponsored Projects Administration.
  • Selected investigators are then responsible for submitting a full proposal to the sponsor by the program deadline. 

Please note that we make every effort to identify and post limited submission competitions on this web site as they become available. If you become aware of an limited opportunity that is not listed below, please send an email to Deanne Hernandez with the pertinent information.

*NOTE* If a faculty member identifies a funding opportunity for which UTHealth is only allowed a limited number of applications, he/she should contact Deanne Hernandez as soon as possible (713-500-3192).

  • If ARA is contacted two months or more in advance of the agency’s submission deadline, an internal competition will be announced on this page ( and held as noted above to select the UTHealth nominee(s).
  • If ARA is contacted less than two months before the agency’s application deadline the UTHealth nominee(s) will be selected on a first come, first served basis, i.e., the first faculty member to contact ARA will be the UTHealth nominee.

Brain Research Foundation Fay/Frank Seed Grant Program

Brain Research Foundation has invited UTHealth to nominate one (1) faculty member for the Fay/Frank Seed Grant Program.

Brain Research Foundation’s Annual Seed Grant Program was initiated in 1981. The purpose of the program is to provide start-up money for new research projects and innovative programs that have the potential of becoming competitive for an NIH grant or other external funding sources.

To be eligible, the PI must be a full-time Assistant or Associate Professor working in the field of neuroscience. Each total award is limited to $80,000 (direct costs) for a two year grant period. The support focus is for new research projects of the highest scientific merit. 

Interested and eligible investigators are encouraged to submit a pre-application, which is due no later than Friday, November 4, 2016.. The BRF submission deadline is January 4, 2017.

Pre-applications must contain:

  • a letter of interest;
  • a full CV for each PI including educational background, publications, and funding history; and
  • a brief description of the proposed research. The description of the proposed research should be no more than three pages and should include an explicit description of the significance, innovation, and potential impact of the proposed work in the field of study.

Please submit all nominations electronically and as a single PDF file to Deanne Hernandez at under the title “BRF Fay-Frank Seed Grant Program”.

 Please go here for additional information on this award program: